President Muhammadu Buhari has reappointed Abike Dabiri-Erewa for a second term as the Chairman of Nigerians in Diaspora Commission (NIDCOM).

The notice of her reappointment was contained in a letter written by the President to the Senate requesting the Upper Chamber to confirm her reappointment.

President Buhari also wrote a separate letter to the Senate seeking the confirmation of appointment of six federal commissioners of the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC) to fill the existing vacancies in the states.

The nominees are Ayogu Eze, Peter Okpara, Hauwa Aliyu, Rajiya Ayuba, Kolawole Adebola and Ismailia Agaka.

Meanwhile, the red chamber has mandated its committee on interior to investigate the circumstances causing the delay in the issuance and renewal of passports by the Nigeria Immigration Service.

The Senate has also asked its committee on interior to probe the contract for the printing of passports by the Nigeria Immigration Service.

The Senate issued these directives to its committee on Interior at the resumption of plenary on Tuesday following a motion by Senator Uche Ekwunife who said Nigerians are facing hardship and stress in getting their passports




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *